Day 31 :) Feeling Appreciative

On this last day of slicing I can’t help but think back to the first meeting I went to about the challenge. I felt pretty nervous about writing each day and letting people into my world a little bit more than I am comfortable with. My original plan was to write about the various types of Oreos and write about the fake lives of my teaching partners, but I soon realized that wasn’t going to work!

The daily conversations that stemmed from that challenge were filled with humor and on some days, panic-

“What are you going to blog about today? I’ll pay you $20 to blog for me! I don’t have anything to write about!”

Looking back, I like the idea of having to still my brain long enough to think about my day or what I’d like to share. Some slices less profound than others, but none-the-less, still a small slice of me.

I am appreciative of this challenge and can’t believe it’s already over. Time flies and pretty soon I’ll be back to school, with just 2 months to go. Most people, including me in years past, are excited at the idea there are only 2 months left. For me, I’m hoping the next 2 months go by a little bit slower. Some days at school are challenging and exhausting, but I’m lucky, my colleagues are the greatest. My teaching partners are the best, they make me laugh til I cry more often than not and I’m not sure if we’ll ever be a team of 3 again, which makes me want to enjoy the next 2 months more than ever.

This whole challenge, like most challenges, leads you to the spirit of appreciation that only a true challenge can. I’m grateful for the opportunity to read all your blogs, about the intricacies of people’s lives, that made me laugh, cry, and think about things differently. Slowing down, it is a good thing, especially for my overactive mind. I’m glad I succeeded in this March writing challenge, it has been an amazing experience and thank you to everyone who took the time to read my little slices each day!

Standard

10 thoughts on “Day 31 :) Feeling Appreciative

  1. I like this line “I like the idea of having to still my brain long enough to think about my day or what I’d like to share.” I so agree! Glad you made it – hard work but so good to do each year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on making it through the challenge. I understand why you want to prolong the year, but I’m ready for summer, even though I’ll miss my AP lit and comp students and can’t imagine a group I’ll love more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your idea of writing about Oreos and making up lives for your colleagues! It is a rewarding experience to take the March Challenge, so congratulations on sticking with it! I hope you’ll be back next year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved reading your energetic slices. It is an amazing experience to hit “publish” 31 days in a row. I hope we will see you on Tuesdays too, because you are a writer (and I want to hear about the colleagues and Oreos).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

