Day 27: It Wasn’t Easy

I gave up all candy for Lent and I did not cheat, not even one little time! It wasn’t  easy, believe me, I am shocked by my own self-discipline and my dedication to the Lenten sacrifice because I love candy, especially when I am stressed!

So many times, so so so many times I wanted to eat the candy in my classroom cabinet, but resisted and instead became quite fond of peanut butter Oreos- essentially trading  one vice for the other!

Easter marks the end of Lent and therefore the end of my Lenten sacrifice and I couldn’t have been more excited to eat candy! I couldn’t decide if I wanted to eat M&M’s or Jelly Beans or Reese’s Eggs…I finally decided that the Reese’s Egg was the way to go and it was just as delicious as I had imagined!

After my 2 minute candy indulgence, my focus turned to all the actual things that Easter is really about- starting my day at mass and spending the rest of the day with my family; enjoying the simple conversations, and feeling grateful for all the blessings in my life.

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Day 27: It Wasn’t Easy

Leave a Reply

