Day 20: You Look Just Like Her

 

You look just like her.

Your smile.

Your laugh.

The way you carry yourself.

It’s uncanny, you look just like her.

I am always flattered when anyone compares me to her, it means more these days than it did when I was younger. Yesterday my family and I went to my cousin’s wedding and I have to say, I felt a little overwhelmed by the amount of people who told me how much I looked like her. Perhaps it was because they hadn’t seen me in a while or it is an observation that came about because of her absence.

It feels special to me though, to have people say I look like my mother; another way for me to feel connected to her.

 

 

 

Standard

8 thoughts on “Day 20: You Look Just Like Her

  1. Aww, that is so sweet. Even though we lose a parent we are still connected in some very tangible and some not so tangible ways. For me, I feel connected to my mom every time I cook a family recipe or work in my garden. These were things that she loved doing and so do I.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

