Day 19: Domestic Failure

I really tried, I swear I did. I told myself that if I was consistent, diligent, and put my best foot forward, it wouldn’t end like it had three times before.

I have failed, yet again. I wonder what that says about me, as a person, that I can’t succeed at this.

People and dogs, it’s all I can a manage to keep alive. I feel bad, I really do, but I have failed yet again. I think about all of the good intentions I had with my 4th orchid and they all seem short-sighted now. It’s safe to say, there’s no bringing it back to life; the beautiful orchid is dead.

Should I try for a 5th?!

image

Standard

15 thoughts on “Day 19: Domestic Failure

  1. mrssurridge says:

    I feel your pain. I can’t figure out how to keep an orchid alive, either. I can grow weeds like crazy, but even when I do research and am committed to the care of gorgeous flowers, I fail. Maybe there should be a support group for those with a black thumb…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no! Been there though. I’ve yet to keep one alive after one bloom. My mom can, but she has some scientific method with ice cubes and rotating it and moving it to another room on certain days. I don’t know. I have no patience for that! I say, keep trying especially when they are on sale 🙂 Great slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope it brings a little consolation for you to know that I manage not only to kill every orchid I have ever received, but I also killed a ‘air’ plant that was gifted to me. Who can kill a plant that lives on air??!?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope it brings a little consolation for you to know that I manage not only to kill every orchid I have ever received, but I also killed an ‘air’ plant that was gifted to me. Who can kill a plant that lives on air??!?!?!

    Like

    • I’m sorry, this is hilarious!!!! I know exactly the kind of plants you’re talking about and I keep thinking- nope, I’d find a way to kill that too!

      Like

  5. Orchids are so difficult and temper-mental! My mother has finally had luck with one but that is after countless ones that have died -AND she definitely has a green thumb. What’s one more try:) It might be just the right one.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We have a plant that to be honest, I have no idea how it survives. We water it occasionally, yet it continues to thrive. I have had the same luck with most of my plants. I am not a green thumb by any stretch of the imagination, but you have to keep trying.

    Like

  7. I have two green thumbed parents and they keep insisting that one day I will care about plants, but so far no! I even killed a spider plant and my father claimed they were foolproof (no comment!). I think orchids have you bedazzled and you will go back for more. I loved the slice!

    Like

  8. I feel your pain, I really do. I had a trio of mini citrus trees (lemon, lime, and orange) and I’d down to one.

    If you really want to feel like you shouldn’t be responsible for living things, try succulents. How I killed something that should barely ever be given water is beyond me.

    Like

  9. I CANNOT keep plants/flowers alive either!! I’ve even had those plants that you need to water like once a month and they don;t make it. But I say keep trying!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

